Skip to content

There Are Fans in Phoenix

April 15, 2010

Contrary to what my esteemed colleague Jeff Hancock believes, there are in fact fans of the Coyotes and there are plenty of them, as evidenced by the white-out that has returned to the Jobing.com Arena.

In fact, during tonight’s 3-2 victory over the Red Wings, Phoenix pulled off the feat in front of an announced attendance of 17,125. How do you like them apples, Jeff?

Granted, this series is far from over, but I stand by the underdogs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 7:04 AM

    Haha I think those are some apples that fell out of a tree and landed in bandwagon.

    I’m humble enough to admit that I was wrong on the fan count. I was surprised just how many Phoenix fans were there. I truly believed they wouldn’t come out to these games.

    It’s still sad though that it took the best season in franchise history, a playoff series against the most loved to hate team in the league, and a throw the snake gimmick to get fans to come watch the Coyotes. Where were they all season long? Phoenix was dead last in total attendance (491,558) and dead last in average attendance (11,989) this year. That’s kind of pathetic. Their team was in jeopardy of relocating and they STILL didn’t come out to support the team this season. Fair weather fans, I say. The economy in Detroit is a disaster and not many people had money, but Detroit was still third in average attendance (19,546) and sixth in total attendance (781,847).

    As far as the game goes. The Coyotes were tough. I picked Detroit and I’m sticking with the Red Wings. I said 6 games in my prediction. I knew it wasn’t going to be a cakewalk for either team. I thought Howard was solid. He could have been a little better, but he wasn’t the reason Detroit lost. One question I kept asking myself was, “where’s Franzen?” Expect the Wings to ‘Feed the Mule’ on Friday.

    Detroit seemed to underestimate the statistically poor Phoenix PP. That probably won’t happen in game 2. The Red Wings will tighten up their game and stick to their system. Wings take game 2 and head home with the series 1-1.

    Detroit in 6

  2. Brandon Fox permalink*
    April 16, 2010 11:12 AM

    Sorry Jesse, but I gotta side with Jeff here. The Coyotes have been struggling financially and it doesn’t help that the fans don’t show up for games in the regular season. All of a sudden come playoff time and they have a real fan base.

    On that note, I have a message for Devils fans: Will you take the early train to the game for once? I saw the highlights–at the opening faceoff, the Rock looked half-empty. Don’t let the Flyers fans beat you to the arena, it’s pathetic. Oh- and another thing- make some noise, will ya?

Leave a Reply

